Phone Interviews with Riot Games!!!!

11 11 2010

I just recently went home for a funeral for my grandfather, Thomas Salvato. He and I were very close and it was a rough weekend the viewing was Sunday and the funeral service was on Monday; family from all around the country had come in for the services and were asking me about my job search and giving me a hard time about not having a job. When everything had settled on Monday evening I received 2 emails regarding jobs; the first was from WMS in Chicago stating that they liked my resume but had decided to pursue other candidates, and the other was from Riot Games wanting to know what my schedule was like to schedule a phone interview with me. The HR rep was and still is incredibly quick with her responses and by about 9 pm on Monday I had my first phone interview scheduled for Tuesday. I was anxiously awaiting the call all day Tuesday and playing League of Legends all day just trying to keep the game as fresh in my mind as I could. So the call came and it carried on for about 45 min. and was really informal and not too stressful. I asked a few questions and the guy answered them and that was the end of the phone call. Shortly after the phone call had ended I had come up with a few more questions that I had to ask and I wanted an evaluation of the phone interview. So I emailed my HR rep and she forwarded the email along for me and that was the end of the night Tuesday. Well, When Wednesday came I was confident that I had done alright in the phone interview but didn’t really expect to hear anything until next week sometime. I went out and got lunch with my older brother and had come back and checked my phone that I had left charging and I had another 2 emails regarding jobs; except both of them were from Riot Games. The first was a response to all of my questions that I had asked the day before and the other was asking my schedule for the rest of the week and early next week so that they could schedule another phone interview. I responded and the response had come back quickly and by the time I left my parents house to come back to Orlando I had my next phone interview scheduled for 9 pm. tonight. I was in the car riding with my parents to get dropped off at my apartment and I received a phone call from my HR rep at Riot and she had to change the time of the interview from 9 pm to 7 pm today and with a different person. So Today at 7 pm EST I will have a phone interview with Ryan Laughlin from Riot Games. I am both nervous and excited and can’t wait to see where these interviews lead.

 

-TJ Salvato

Actions

Information

9 responses

23 11 2010
GTHaxor

Hi TJ, hope everything went smoothly with the interview.

Have you heard back from them yet? I also applied for a position at right last week and am still eagerly waiting to hear back from them. How long did it take for someone at Riot to contact you after sending in your resume?

23 11 2010
GTHaxor

Hey TJ,

Hope everything went smoothly with the interview.

I also applied for a position at Riot and am still eagerly awaiting a response. How long did it take them to respond to you?

23 11 2010
tsalvato624

I would say it took a few weeks to hear back, I have only really been actively applying for like 2 months now so not too long. The best advice I can give is make sure you really want to work there. wherever it is you want to work make sure that you ask the questions you really want to know and get a response, be persistent with it. From what I have gotten out of the phone interviews with them is that it is a great place to work and the people I have been in contact with have been really friendly and helpful. What did you apply for?

23 11 2010
GTHaxor

Sorry about the double post, didn’t realize it went through the first time. And thank you for the super quick response.

Riot is definitely where I want to be and can’t imagine being anywhere else for that matter. I applied for the position of Assistant Game Designer just last week and am really anxious to hear back. What position did you apply for and what kinds of things did they ask you in the interview?

24 11 2010
tsalvato624

I applied for production positions like producer roles. The interview process so far has been nothing but wonderful. They asked me questions about the game, things I like and don’t like. Who I play in the game, why do I want to work for them, what I want to do. The best way to answer them is honestly, don’t try and tell them what you think they want to hear. Be confident and know what you want and what they do.

24 11 2010
GTHaxor

Thanks TJ for the helpful insight!

I agree with your advice here: Honesty is the best policy. Knowing what kind of questions they might ask me will give me some idea on what kinds of things I should be thinking about before the interview. From what you’ve told me, it sounds like a pretty informal interview and I will definitely look forward to it.

29 12 2010
Bei337

Sup TJ! How did the second phone interview go? I was asked to schedule a phone interview next week with Veigar, one of Riot Games’ Senior QA analysts. I applied for a QA internship. I am anxious as to what the phone interview will be like and I cannot wait for another week to talk to them :)

11 01 2011
tsalvato624

Hey whats goin on. I never did catch your name, the job itself at Riot didn’t work out they went the path of somebody with more experience. And thats cool i can respect it im fresh out of school. My break will come for sure and I am still actively applying. I really dont have a dream company I want to learn from all of them. Its more so about the process of making a game for me. Its my passion. How bout you it took me a long time to respond how is your interview process going?

11 01 2011
Bei337

Thanks for the response! I actually just confirmed with Riot for an on-site interview after rounds of phone screens. I’m quite excited for it! It’s an internship for this summer hopefully. Good luck with your endeavors!

-Jake

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

